Essie Borrowed & Blue NOTD– Swatch, Review, Photos

basecoat, two coats, top coat

First off, this is not what’s on my nails now. Why? Because it was a fail. Essie hates me. However, this is one of the prettiest colors I’ve ever seen. Essie Borrowed & Blue is a light, pastel, eggshell blue creme. I’ve been looking at extremely light colors like China Glaze Bahamian Escape and OPI What’s With The Cattitude? I went to Ulta to pick up some of the Shrek collection and missed it by one. day. So, I was wondering aimlessly, mourning the loss of the perfect spring pastel blue, when I spotted the Essie Borrowed & Blue display. There were some pinks and whites, and THIS. This beautiful, pastel bottle of perfection. I ran home and rubbed China Glaze’s GR8 out of existance and put this on.

And that’s about where the awesome stopped. The formula SUCKED. It was so patchy and goopy, even for a thin, even coat. After two coats it became opaque, but it took almost 45 minutes to dry– with a coat of Seche Vite! Then I had to rush around and find my work pants, and totally messed up my pinky nail. So I took it off and tried reapplying with out a basecoat, and guess what? One coat, completely opaque, dried with no issues completely in 10 minutes. (Click on the picture above and compare ring finger to pinky). Now, I had the same exact issue with Nice Is Nice, so I’m going to try that color again with no basecoat. That seems to be the trick.

Final Verdict: Excellent color, opacity, and dry time– with no basecoat. If you use a basecoat, you get a gloopy, messy ick on your nails. (Compare ring finger to pinky)

One thought on “Essie Borrowed & Blue NOTD– Swatch, Review, Photos

  1. Pingback: Hello Kitty Konadicure of Awesome « Kettle Rose

Leave a Reply

