Cookies and Cream and Mint Chocolate Chip

I did this look when it was super hot here in central New York and I was in the mood for ice cream. I had also just gotten my Nicole by OPI Pitch Black Glimmer in the mail, so this brainchild came about. I wanted a cookies and cream color, but only had nude colors. So I used Zoya’s Shay, which I got in my June(?) Birchbox. (Oh, which I have to post. Thanks for reminding me…) which is a nice beige shimmery color. Very mannequin hands with a twist. Then I used two coats of Pitch Back Glimmer, then one coat of Seche Vite. Which I no longer use. More on that later. I loved this look, but it wasn’t quite right. It didn’t really look like what I wanted it to… So I tried this:

 

This summer I went through a mint chocolate chip phase. I bought the entire Bath and Bodywork summer collection of the scent, and I ate TCBY’s froyo every day. Now I can’t stand the smell. Ugh. Well, in the midst of that mini-obsession, I did this, about a week after the Cookies and Cream semi-disaster. I used China Glaze Re Fresh-Mint and Nicole by OPI’s Pitch Black Glimmer. This was much more ice cream-y than the CnC one. My bottle of Re Fresh-Mint has a wonky brush and a crappy formula, so I wasn’t a happy camper with the application, but I kinda like the end result. I’m going to end this though, because seeing that picture is making me nauseous. NO MORE MINT FROZEN YOGURT. Pretty sure I have nightmares about the stuff. Bleh.

 

So, overall, I kinda liked these looks, but in the end they weren’t that great. The black glitter is mixed with holo and silver glitter, and what little black glitter you get on the nail is just too tiny to make any sense. It’s a good glitter topcoat, but just not good for use as chocolate chips. Have you ever tried ice cream related looks? What summer themed looks have you done?

 

~ Britni Rose

One thought on “Cookies and Cream and Mint Chocolate Chip

  1. Pingback: TCBY Turns 30 « RestaurantRow.com

Leave a Reply

