SAG Awards Nominees announced!

Best Ensemble Cast

  • The Artist
  • Bridesmaids
  • The Descendants
  • The Help
  • Midnight in Paris
Best Actor:
  • Demián Bichir, A Better Life
  • George Clooney, The Descendants
  • Leonardo DiCaprio, J. Edgar
  • Jean Dujardin, The Artist
  • Brad Pitt, Moneyball
Best Actress:
  • Glenn Close, Albert Nobbs
  • Viola Davis, The Help
  • Meryl Streep, The Iron Lady
  • Tilda Swinton, We Need to Talk About Kevin
  • Michelle Williams, My Week With Marilyn
Best Supporting Actor
  •  Kenneth Branagh, My Week With Marilyn
  • Armie Hammer, J. Edgar
  • Jonah Hill, Moneyball
  • Nick Nolte, Warrior
  • Christopher Plummer, Beginners
Best Supporting Actress
  • Bernice Bejo, The Artist
  • Jessica Chastain, The Help
  • Melissa McCarthy, Bridemaids
  • Janet McTeer, Albert Nobbs
  • Octavia Spencer, The Help

Leaders:

The Help leads with four nominations, while The Artist follows closely with three.

My Thoughts:

What happened to what seemed to be the frontrunners? Movies like War Horse, Hugo, and Extremely Loud & Incredibly Close received no nominations at all.

Best Ensemble Cast:

While I’m glad that films like The Artist, The Descendants, and The Help received recognition, I think that Albert Nobbs, Hugo, War Horse, and Extremely Loud & Incredibly Close deserved to be on that list alongside them. And how come all of these prediction sites are giving nods to Bridesmaids? I thought it was funny… but award-worthy? I don’t know. In my opinion, this should go to The Descendants or The Artist.

Best Actor:

I actually agree with these for the most part, but I have to admit, I haven’t heard much about A Better Life, so I wasn’t expecting that one. Best actor should, in my opinion, go to George Clooney on this one. If not, then Leo.

Best Actress:

I one hundred percent agree with these nominations. I hope this gets Glen Close the attention she needs to get herself in line for an Oscar nomination. And who should win this? Either Glenn Close, Meryl Streep, or Michelle Williams will take this category.

Best Supporting Actor:

I think all of these are pretty deserving. I haven’t seen Beginners, and I don’t really know what it’s about, but I just read a review from a source I trust, and I think it’s also award-worthy. I can’t decide who in this category this should go to.

Best Supporting Actress:

Again, how did Bridesmaids get in here? It wasn’t even that good of a movie, and so many deserve awards more than that. Melissa McCarthy was the best part of the movie, but I just don’t know… I didn’t get it, apparently. My vote here is pretty tough. I honestly can’t decide which should be the winner here.

What do you guys think?

Leave a Reply

