Birchbox | January 2012 — Photo and Review!

Hello again! Glad to see you! Today I have for you the January 2012 Birchbox. This was a pretty good box, and I really liked most of the products, including the one full size product! Also of note, Birchbox is no longer including the amount that is the full size product. (Example: Full size: 30 fl oz, $50. Now it just says “Full size: $50) I’m not a big fan of the change, I like to imagine what the size would be like to determine how crazy the price is. 🙂

BORGHESE | CuraForte Moisture Intesnsifier | Full size: $67.50

This serum proves that sidekicks deserve a recognition too. Apply before moisturizing or mix it with your favorite cream to help actives work harder.

I’ve just started using this last night, and I like it! It really kicks up the moisture. This is what I’ve needed. I’ll probably post an update on this is a few weeks (or when this runs out). While I probably won’t be able to afford the full size, I’ll be looking for an alternative, STAT.

Juicy Couture | Viva La Juicy | Full size: $69 – 89

This scent will bring out your inner girly girl. Wild berries flirt with mandarin and soft floral notes to create a fragrance that’s fun and happy.

I love this. I absolutely love this. I feel like this is a fall/winter scent though, even though it’s so bright and cheery looking. It’s sweet but still musky enough for me to like it. Of course if a perfume is described as “floral,” “mandarin,” “lemon,” or “sandalwood,” I’m all in. 😉

Jouer | Body Butter | Full size: $32

Ingredient snobs, take note. This rich formula softens rough patches like elbows, with pure shea butter, plus olive and avocado oils.

This is perfect. Absolutely perfect. It has a fairly strong scent, but I enjoy it. It blends in quickly and it makes anything it touches perfectly moisturized and soft. For my personal body product, it’s my holy grail moisturizer. I will most likely pay the $32 for the full size. It’s that good. And the jar is frosted with a soft gold lid. So luxe!

stila | Smudge Stick Waterproof Eye Liner | Full size: $20

It’s time to put down the black liner. This colorful pigment makes eyes stand out and stays put for hours.

The shade I got was called Peacock. This is full sized! And it’s wonderful! It’s extremely opaque, it’s bright enough to be noticeable, and yet it can melt away into a darker smokey eye for a nice twist.

Peacock is a dark blue. It’s technically a teal, but it’s a super-blue-leaning teal. It has amazing shimmer and it’s opaque in one swipe across the waterline. And I have watery eyes. It wears really well on me, though I haven’t actually worn it for 8+ hours before. But it lasts a good 4 hours without even budging, so I can only guess that it’ll be in just about as good of a condition.

LÄRABAR | Mini Bar

You won’t find any artificial fillers in these natural bars: just dried fruits, nuts, and other wholesome ingredients. They’re as tasty as they are healthy.

I ate it. Guilty. Didn’t even get a picture of the packaging. I’ll bet it’s rare if I can ever get a picture of food on here. I love eating. This bar was definitely natural. You can plainly see all of the ingredients. I like that. However, it wasn’t… my favorite thing I’ve ever eaten. But it wasn’t bad. Just not my cup of tea.

 

That’s it for the January box! Until next time,

~ Britni Rose

Leave a Reply

