June 2012 Birchbox | Jet Set

Look what came in the mail today! This month, Birchbox has chosen to go with a Jet Set theme! While I never, ever “jet set”, I do love excellent travel sized products. Note to Birchbox, should you read this: Can we have more organic products? They change my life. Kthxbye.

Eyeko | Skinny Liquid Eyeliner in OliveFull-size: $15

Direct from the UK, this user-friendly liquid liner had a genius pen applicator and a super smooth formula.

This is my first Eyeko product, somehow. And I am pleased. I don’t normally use colored liner, I usually stick to black, but I think this liner is something that I could use often. I’m also very glad that I’m not allergic to the green in it. Me + Green = Red, watery eyes. This liner has a very good formula, nearly opaque in one go, it’s a gorgeous deep olive – almost black. The tip is my 2nd favorite style. I prefer flexible felt tips, like the one in my favorite liner, Maybelline Lash Stiletto. I don’t mind pens, but they’re a bit temperamental. And sharp. 🙂 I cannot stand the thin brushes that used to be standard on liquid liners. One negative thing about this is that, while it’s smudge proof, don’t get near water. It turns into a mess. But hey, if you’re wearing liquid eyeliner, you shouldn’t expect to be on the beach and let it stay in place.

Melvita | Rose Floral Water | Full-size: $22

This organic mist works as a light toner and mid-day skin refresher. We also love the delicate scent.

Lovely packaging alert! It also smells delicious, it’s organic and it’s cruelty-free. Yes, yes, and yes. It’s main ingredient is rose water, which is (if you couldn’t tell) a huge plus, and on top of all of this, it’s a good product. It’s super light and refreshing, with a wonderful cooling sensation, which is great for days like yesterday, where it was just hot and humid. A spritz of this calms and cools both you and your face down. Now, it says you can use this as a light toner, but I don’t think it’ll be replacing my Pangea Organics toner, (and not for lack of quality, this product is brilliant), but I will definitely keep it in my purse for a light refreshment in the summer.

theBalm cosmetics | Staniac in Beauty Queen | Full-size: $17

We’re crazy about this two-in-one lip and cheek stain: the sheer gel formula delivers a subtle, long-wearing flush.

First off, I have to say that I am not a huge fan of lip stains. I just don’t like them. Eh. But this one isn’t bad. It leaves a super-light and natural flush, but not enough of one to warrant $17, in my opinion. It’s got a wonderful gel formula that feels cool (almost cold), and dries down to an almost tight feeling, but not too dry. I’m not a fan of the color, because it just brings out all the blotchiness in my skin. I’ve looked at the other colors, but none of them seem worth the slight discomfort and price tag. But nice to have in my stash either way.

Yu-Be | Moisturizing Skin Cream | Full-size: $16

This bestselling Japanese creme has a concentrated formula that heals cracked hands, chapped lips, and other forms of dryness. It’s your new carry-on essential.

Super rich, super moisturizing, and very long lasting. It’s a thick cream that’s got that golden-metallic type color, and it actually smells like Vick’s Vapo Rub. Which is amazing. Right now I have a wicked cold/sinus infection combination, and my lips are so dry. I put this on my lips and it was just as effective as Vick’s. I believe that’s eucalyptus that does that, but I’m not sure. It’s excellent as a hand lotion after exfoliation as well.

LIFESTYLE EXTRA | BAND-AID | Cynthia Rowley Dress Up Band-Aids | Full-size: Pack of 20, $15

Be prepared for life’s little emergencies with these stylish designer bandages.

Cynthia. Rowley. Band-aids. YES. Nothing more need be said about how I feel about it. Not that I use Band-Aids a lot (or ever). A regular at the theater came in with the model one on, and I asked about it. Everyone was shocked that I; A. Knew it was a Cynthia Rowley Band-Aid, and B. Complimented A BAND-AID. I’m a strange duck.

BIRCHBOX MAN EXTRA | John Varvatos Star USA | Full-size: $55-70

In honor of Father’s Day, we’ve included this dapper cologne, a blend of ginger, juniper berries, and vetiver. Pass it on to a lucky guy friend or family member.

I think I may wear this. My dad won’t, so I will. It’s fun. Again, I suck at describing scents. It smells like a mens fragrance that a woman could get away with. It’s one you’d love to have on your guy’s hoodie/shirt/pillow when he’s away. I really like this. I’ve been sitting here smelling my wrist for about a half hour.

This was an excellent box, and there were a couple full size products, making the value of this box way outweigh it’s cost.

Join Birchbox! For $10 a month, you can get luxury beauty samples from well-known brands and will introduce you to products that open your mind to new products you’d never try/hear about otherwise.

xoxo

Britni Rose

Leave a Reply

