Lancôme Spring 2013 In Love Collection: Kohl in Love 501 Jade Crush | Swatches, Photos, and Review

Good morning! I have something super exciting from Lancôme for ya’ll today!

Lancôme recently released their Spring ’13 “In Love” collection, which looked super promising in promo photos, but also a little worrying. I’ll be the first to admit that Lancôme’s eye pencils aren’t… great. Their liquid and gel liners are fantastic, but their pencils aren’t creamy or soft in the least. So when they announced Kohl in Love in three colors, including a cobalt and a bright turquoise/teal, I was nervous. When we got the colors in, we didn’t have testers, so I bought the two of them blind. (I skipped out on Chocolate Affair because, really, would I ever need a brown liner? I’m allergic to brown liners, and I already have one.) Today I have 501 Jade Crush to review, which is the first I bought. I immediately ripped it out of the silver box and swatched it on my hand and OH MY GOODNESS is it perfect. Take a look!

IMG_7731 IMG_7748 IMG_7735 IMG_7736 IMG_7739Jade Crush is a bright teal, almost turquoise, but it contains just the slightest hint of green. It’s so creamy and smooth and opaque that the third line in my swatch (the wobbly one) was made while barely touching my hand. Folks… this pencils is as soft, if not more so than my Urban Decay ones. When I put it on my eyeball, it took no effort to get it to full strength. This lasts for at least 6 hours before thinking about moving anywhere.

There are a few cons though; I’m worried about sharpening it. It’s so soft, that I fear sharpening will break it. Probably won’t, but the fact is, it doesn’t feel… sturdy? It’s like that feeling when you’re holding a bottle of pigment, thinking, “Oh man, I am SO going to drop this.” The other thing is… this pencil really stays on. Now, I can get this off my lashline easily with Pond’s, but when it’s on a drier area of skin, say… you’re arm? It can stain. I wore it as a cat eye and it came off with no issue, but the swatch shown above took a full couple days to get off.

You can get it at department store counters now for $26.

What do you guys think? Would you invest in this pencil of near-perfection? Stay tuned for the sister pencil in the collection, the cobalt blue named Deepwater Blue!

xoxo
Britni Rose

(P.S. I am a little bored with Lancôme’s whole “in Love” products. They’re amazing products, better than all previous ones, but the name isn’t cute anymore. Make Emma Watson look super edgy!)

 

5 thoughts on “Lancôme Spring 2013 In Love Collection: Kohl in Love 501 Jade Crush | Swatches, Photos, and Review

  1. That color is simply amazing!!! It really suits you in the waterline! Pretty pretty pretty!
    Too bad that “it stains”! 😦 At least, you don’t have to be worried that it will disappear though!

    Like

    • It’s seriously amazing. Stays on for at least 12 hours. So worth the money. And, bonus, there’s no Urban Decay dupe! MAC’s chromographic Cyan pencil is more sky blue and not recommended for the waterline. Can’t go wrong with this pencil.

      Like

Leave a Reply

