China Glaze eCollection | Photos, Swatches, and Review

Good morning! I have some swatches of an older collection from our dear China Glaze, 2008 to be precise! I’m missing one of the polishes, and I don’t know how or why.

IMG_7492

Recycle is described as a “rain cloud gray” by China Glaze, and I’ve actually used it as rain clouds before. It’s a gray creme that isn’t completely opaque, but not a jelly, giving it a misty look to it. Not sure if that’s intentional or not, though. It’s actually the other half of my first China Glaze polish. I ordered it along with For Audrey, so those two are my firsts. It was one of few grays out for a while, which was ahead of the trend that took the world by storm in ’10-’11.

IMG_7493

Shower Together is a “sky blue” creme. Sheer and streaky and patchy and hard to build. There are many polishes this color with better formulas. Somehow I have two of these, and this swatch, taken just the other day, is the first time I’ve worn it. Not much to say about this one. Disappointing.

IMG_7497

Solar Power is a “sunshine yellow” shimmer, which for a yellow, doesn’t have the worst formula ever. Still a little uneven and streaky, the shimmer is pretty. Doesn’t look good on my hands, but it’s sister yellow, Sunshine Pop from the Electropop collection is my favorite yellow.

IMG_7500

Tree Hugger is described as “fresh cut grass” green. I mean, I’ve never seen grass that light colored before. But I get the point. Tree Hugger is a pretty spring green with light green shimmer. Looks pretty in pictures but horrendous, on me, in person. Looks cheap and gaudy on my hands, but a pretty color on others.

IMG_7501IMG_7503

Unplugged is a “metallic bark.” Metallic bark? Okay, now I think they’re stretching! It’s a luxurious warm dark brown, slightly glowy. Almost a dark bronze, if that makes sense. If you look super close, you can see some slight streaking, but it’s not visible to the average eye. I hate browns on my nails, because it ages my hands, but this is red enough to look good. Wonderful formula. Really, really nice.

Now, Hybrid is the only one I don’t have. Hybrid is described as a “shimmering sand.” If you look up swatches, it’s totally a color I’d love. I think the only reason I don’t have it so far is because whenever I’m in Sally’s, it’s out of stock.

Do you have any of this collection? I’m only one polish away from owning a complete collection. I usually don’t buy the pinks or reds, so I don’t have complete collections.

Hope you’re having a wonderful day!
Britni Rose

Leave a Reply

